Democracy Summer

To apply to be a 2021 Democracy Summer Fellow with DelBene for Congress, please submit an application HERE. The application deadline is Friday, May 14, and the program will take place from June 21 to July 31.

Democracy Summer 2021 will be primarily virtual, and high school and college students are encouraged to apply.

Developed by Maryland Congressman (and law professor) Jamie Raskin, Democracy Summer is an educational program dedicated to training the next generation of political activists, organizers, and leaders. In 2021, for the first time ever, Democracy Summer is expanding nationally in partnership with the DCCC and Democratic campaigns across America, including Team DelBene!

Selected Fellows will participate in a virtual curriculum designed by Rep. Raskin focused on the history of social and political change in America, while simultaneously training as organizers and volunteer activists.

Through this curriculum, Fellows will learn from great activist heroes, young and old political leaders, Democratic policy experts and top political and community organizers across the country. Democracy Summer Fellows in Washington’s 1st Congressional District will also work directly with Congresswoman Suzan DelBene’s campaign. Through this organizing work, Fellows will receive an intensive practical training in the key skills of Democratic campaigning: electoral strategy, field organizing, door-to-door canvassing, phone-banking, text banking, fundraising, policy development and campaign messaging, social media and digital strategy, rally and online organizing, event planning, scheduling, and campaign management.

The theme of 2021 Democracy Summer will be “The Fight to Vote: Nonviolent Movements, Violent Reactions and the Continuing Struggle for Strong Democracy in America.”

In prior years, Democracy Summer speakers have included House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Civil Rights leaders Bob Moses and Rev. William J. Barber II, Prof. Laurence Tribe, Senator Elizabeth Warren, Rep. John Lewis, and Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez.